Lesson 64: Love Today

love where you are
                                  Art credit: kalbarteski.bigcartel.com

“Find a way of eagerly anticipating future changes, while at the same time you are in love and satisfied with who, what, where and how you be.”

~Abraham

I don’t know about you, but it’s pretty rare that I don’t have some kind of music or noise playing in the background at all times. I think it’s a common habit, especially of single people. I usually turn the TV on the moment I walk into my apartment. I watch the Today Show while getting ready for work in the mornings. And I prefer to have music playing while I cook, clean or write. I’m grooving to Brand New Heavies, as we speak.

I think it makes me feel less alone. But I’m also aware of how it can sometimes keep me from being fully present in the moment.

That can be a good thing when you don’t really want to be aware – of another Saturday night home alone, another morning getting ready for a job you hate, or yet another (today is five) Valentine’s Day with no love in sight.

But the other afternoon I sat in unusual silence. I made a point to take in my surroundings, and how I felt about it.

There is so much “missing” right now from my life – a job, my own place, love and a family of my own. All important things I really hope to have soon. Very soon. But I am also very aware of what I do have: Time.

Time to find the right job, instead of jumping back onto that hamster wheel just for the biggest paycheck I can find. Time to do yoga and have lunch with my mom, instead of racing to and from a class alone to eat lunch at my desk. Time to spend an entire day writing at a coffee shop or wine bar when I feel like it.

I know that a year, or even a few months from now, I will look back fondly on this time in my life. No matter how anxious I am for it to pass.

If you can’t appreciate where you are, you’re less likely to attract more good stuff into your life. And I want lots of good stuff. Soon. In the meantime, I’m taking time everyday to appreciate the good stuff I already have.

You’re exactly where you’re supposed to be. Namaste.

4 thoughts on “Lesson 64: Love Today

  1. Well said and so true! The need to have constant sound when I’m alone makes me forget how peaceful it is when there’s silence. That and gratitude works – be in the here and now! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Sophia! I’m glad it resonated for you 🙂 Hope you had a great time. I plan to FINALLY go WCS dancing in ATX tonight!

Leave a Reply

