Lesson 57: Sometimes you just gotta kick a little ass.

www.trxtraining.com/train/exercises
http://www.trxtraining.com/train/exercises

I woke up yesterday morning tired – and a little down.

I’ve been up late most nights – booking flights and planning trips. All good stuff, but scary because I’m not exactly sure what I’m doing or where I’m going to end up. I know I don’t need to know, the plan will reveal itself. But it’s hard. So in the meantime, I’m doing my best to meet as many people as possible and experience as much as I can along the way.

In between travels, I’m enjoying time at home with my parents this summer – which is a real gift. They just celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary, and are happier than ever. I’m beyond grateful to have this time with them, especially when I see so many of my friends losing their parents. I know that this time “off” is one of the best things I could have done while I figure out where I want to go next.

I’ve also been getting reacquainted with my hometown of Shaker Heights, which quite honestly is stunning. Not that I didn’t know this, but now as an adult I’m even more amazed how beautiful the streets and homes are. As I biked by the lush and perfectly manicured lawns Friday night, I saw parties starting and people enjoying the beautiful summer evening.  It was lovely.

But sometimes it’s hard to be somewhere so suburban when I’m still so single.

It’s one of the reasons I left Brooklyn Heights. Every where I look, there are babies and young families. Which make me smile, and then sigh. My thoughts can easily go to dark places, which is what led me to feeling down.

Luckily I had a TRX training session scheduled Saturday morning and had to get up and out of the house. Within 30 minutes, I was transformed (and sore!). TRX Suspension Training was created by a Navy Seal and is a total body workout that seriously kicks your ass!

There’s something about a good workout that makes you feels stronger. And ready to go another few rounds with life again.

Which I did. I spent the day by the pool doing research for a freelance project, and met a new friend for drinks last night. And while sitting at the bar, I met a nice Air Force Sergeant who loves Mad Men and older women.

Well played, universe. I hear you loud and clear 😉

 

Leave a Reply

