Lesson 48: Tell a better story

pot-stry30b

“It should only be talked about if the talking will make you feel better. It is of no value, ever, to activate and talk about something that doesn’t feel good, because it reactivates it in your vibration…”

~ Abraham-Hicks

Until recently, it never really occurred to me that I had a choice as to what and how I talk about negative events in my life.

I pride myself on being honest, to a fault. I recount things to others, and to myself, as accurately as I can. I never want to feel that I’m painting a picture in a way that alters the truth.

For instance, if lose my cool with my parking garage attendants, reacting to the fact that they blocked my car behind cars with no keys and made me 30 minutes late to volunteering – I will spend the day telling myself and others just that: I was reactive and made a bad situation worse.

Which is true, but not productive.

I could tell the story in a funny way, “You wouldn’t believe how they had to turn my car around 180 degrees in its spot…!” Or in an insightful way “I was really proud of how calm I stayed until the second guy came down with no keys…”  Or not tell it at all.

How I view what happened to me, and how I choose to retell it keeps me in that emotional space. Especially if my version of the story is negative.

There are many ways to look at anything that happens to us. And I’m starting to realize that it’s ok, and so much healthier, to reframe a bad situation to see the positive. And reinforce that energy by talking about it as such.

It is so easy to talk about all the bad, crazy, upsetting things that happen to us day in and day out. The drama makes a great story! But our words are so very powerful. We paint the reality of our lives with how we frame something that has happened to us. And only attracts more icky stuff into our force field.  

Maybe the trick is to talk about it only enough so that you can help create a positive change – in yourself and in others. Then focus on the good that IS happening. The opportunity to learn something new about yourself, the friends in your life that help support you along the way, your good health, and a new day to try, try again.

One thought on “Lesson 48: Tell a better story

Leave a Reply

