Lesson 41: The journey is easier to enjoy going downhill

Image
Stopping to take in the stunning sunset on the “coasting” side of my ride home.

“Life is a journey, not a destination”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Ralph was right. 

On my fridge I have a magnet saying basically the same thing, that it’s not about the destination – it’s about enjoying the journey along the way. And I totally believe that is true. So much of our lives are out of our control. We are constantly taken on “the scenic route” while en route to our preferred destination. I don’t know about you, but there’s a very tired computerized voice in my head, constantly announcing: “Recalculating…!”

I have tried to trust the process. I know that life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans. But what I realized today on my bike, as I coasted down the “easy” side of the Brooklyn Bridge, was that it’s much easier to enjoy the view when you’re going downhill.

The last 4 years have been, for me, a non-stop uphill ride. Only with no view of the top of the bridge in sight. Huffing and puffing, pain, sweat and tears – while I watched so many others coast downhill past me. I knew they’d had their own uphill climbs, we all do. But I’ve been wondering “when is it my turn to enjoy the ride?”

I’m hoping it starts now.

Last Friday I accepted a new, senior position at a small agency with some really nice people. I’m excited, and a little scared. I’ve been around the block enough to know that until you get there, you really don’t know what you’re getting yourself into. But I’m very hopeful that this is the beginning of a new chapter for me. That I’ve finally reached the peak of THIS mountain (there’s always a new one on the other side), and that I’ll get to coast a bit and take in the view. Not at the job itself, but in my life.

I hope that this is a place where I can feel good about who I am, and what I do, and how I bring “Light” to the world. Someplace where I can truly make a difference.

Because no matter how many (albeit accurate) truisms I put on my refrigerator door about it being the “journey and not the destination,” when your trip is one long uphill climb – it’s hard to appreciate the journey, let alone even look up to notice the view.

Image
this beautiful pendant from White Lilie Designs on Etsy
Leave a Reply

