Lesson 2: Take chances.

I’ve lived in New York for 15 years , and honestly thought I’d seen it all. Clearly that’s impossible – as demonstrated by my subway ride to work yesterday:

Nebbishy guy to non-model looking girl: “How long have you been in New York?”

Non-model looking girl: “About 2 years.”

Nebbishy guy: “Well the advice I’ve learned to pass on to new women in New York is – don’t go to the big modeling agencies. They’ll just rip you off. Here, let me give you my number….”

Non-model looking girl: “Um, ok. Thanks?”

Isaac Oblivious then proceeded to write his name and number down on a beer coaster, sat down next to her, and told her all about the movie he just saw and loved. All while, the entire subway car collectively listened and cringed – painfully wondering why he thought she cared.

I’m not sure why this made me so uncomfortable. That is was SO obvious he was hitting on her? That she wasn’t a model? That his pick up line was as old as the seat she was sitting on? That it was so public, and pathetic?

I should have been rooting for him. So few guys in this city seem to have the balls to approach a woman, let alone ask one out. It’s a badge of honor – and worthy of one date, as far as I’m concerned – when I meet a guy who actually goes after what he wants. Rejection be damned.

I honestly think that’s what I found so appealing about my last boyfriend. He took one look at me and decided I was his. He didn’t let my hesitance or ambivalence for 2 months sway him. He knew what he wanted and went after it, balls to the wall. Very sexy. And in the end,  I’m grateful that he did.

I miss those kinds of men. Where are they? I fear the sexual revolution has muddied the waters of dating. I realize that it’s good that women have equal rights to men, but when it comes to dating, I want my man to be – the man. And there are so few left willing to do that.

So good for you, nerdy subway guy. Maybe she was impressed. Maybe she’ll actually call you. Maybe she digs geeky guys with no boundaries.

Maybe not.

Leave a Reply

